Anne Cattrall


Cognitive and Behavioural Psychotherapist

Why I Work at CAMHS

I have worked with children, young people and their families for almost thirty years. I qualified at Liverpool University as a social worker, then I trained professionals who worked with children and young people and developed a special interest in mental health.
I have worked in CAMHS for 15 years and I enjoy the satisfaction of being able to help children and young people and make a difference in their lives. I think Mental Health is a priority for all of us, young and old and I am grateful and proud to have a job that allows me to help others.

My Skills and Interests

I specialise in working with Anxiety and Depression. I am a Cognitive and Behavioural Psychotherapist (CBT) , this is a talking therapy that can help you manage your problems by changing the way you think and behave. CBT works particularly well when treating different types of Anxiety such as Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD), Social Anxiety, Panic Disorder, Generalised Anxiety and Health Anxiety. In addition I use CBT to treat Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and Depression.

I have been working using CBT for a long time so I supervise a lot of people who are learning to use this therapy. In Liverpool Alder Hey CAMHS and our partner agencies, Young Person’s Advisory Service (YPAS) and Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) Foundation have been working hard to transform our services and Improve Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) for children and young people in Liverpool. I am really proud to be the first CBT supervisor in Liverpool to qualify in working with children and young people for IAPT. I hope we can really improve the treatment for Anxiety and Depression in Liverpool by listening to children and young people and delivering therapies that improve their lives.

In addition I work in the Family Therapy clinic, as part of the Family Therapy team. The clinic helps family members to meet and express and explore difficult thoughts and emotions and helps them to understand one another better.

A Bit About Me

I was born and still live in Liverpool. I have two daughters and one son. I also have a dog and a cat. I love cooking, reading and my favourite thing is to travel abroad. I hope to learn Italian this year as I love Italy so much.